Greenhouse build on the cheap

I hope I’m in the right place, I would like to use this as a journal for my greenhouse build. I’m doing this on the fly and it may take me longer than I would like. I am a old carpenter and not as fast as I use to be. If you can be patient I think some may find it amusing. If you have any suggestions please feel free to post. Peace Mike

13 Likes

How big do you need? I think typical route here is go hoop house method. Basically bend pipe and buy greenhouse film in bulk.

3 Likes

Here is my start, I poured a 6" footer 12’x12’,

8 Likes

12’ 2x6 foundation with 12’ deckboard for the floor.

Going to have a 2’ knee wall on the West, South and East side, North side will be sided for cold north wind winter grow. Windows are from a neighbor that was putting in more EF windows. Free. I should mention all the materials have been purchased from my Local big box. Deck board all had flaws (kull) and was purchased 75% off, Concrete footer was broken bags $1 each, siding was from my man cave build.

Windows and one wall framed, this pic is looking where the door is going to go, looking south.
East side windows in and siding up. Total cost so far less than $200
I had a job that required replacing a storm door, the door I was replacing was in better shape than my door so I replaced the door on my catio ( I named it that because Mrs cat lets our cats cruise the screened in porch). Any how I was left with this POS and it just sat and started to be reclaimed by Mother Earth. I decided to rebuild it .
This is whats left when I tore it apart. Stay tuned the transformation is cool.

16 Likes