DWC bubble bucket ph trouble

Checked ph at 7.4. Used ph down, then is 6.2. Next morning, ph 8.4 and plant dead. 3 week old, healthy, foot long roots on a 8 inch plant. What did I do? Could I have too much O2? I am New to this, any input is welcome.

It’s understandable that pH can be a little confusing. A couple of things to check…

1st, is your pH pen in good working order? When’s the last time you replaced the batteries? Pens do die if your dry out. It changes the chemistry within, and they’ll read wrong.

2nd, Did you use you your device properly? I’m not sure of your experience level, but using pH testing equipment will get easier with more experience.

3rd, Is your pH solution in good standing? Where most Acids won’t go bad, per se, they do get contaminated.

4th, and last, the Yoyo effect. As Acid disolves carbonates within a solution, the results of the process will raise pH again (i.e. Add acid = lower pH + disolved salts = pH back up). This yoyo effect will continue until all the carbonates are disolved.
Once all the carbonates are completely disolved, pH will drop sharply, so be careful not to overdose with pH down.

Here’s a video that might help.

1 Like

We’d need to know more about your situation to be able to better help you.

Are you using a 5 gallon bucket, and if so, how many actual gallons of nutrient solution?

Also, as Dumme mentions about carbonates, what is the EC or PPM of your water before adding nutrients? And what is it after you add nutrients?

Do you mean the aeration of your DWC hydroponic nutrient solution? If this is what you are meaning, then no, almost the more air the better, it just becomes almost like an aeroponics system.

~MacG