When to transplant seedlings

I am a beginner at growing inside . Germinated seeds in water for 24 hour. tap roots were present . I put them in rapid routers. All 15 sprouted in 36 to 48 hours. I thinks I might have kept too long under Cfl light. I planted them in solo cups with 75% coconut coir 25% perlite mix. They have first leaves and second set sprouting. I may be impatient but the growth has seemed to slow after transplant. I am now 10 days into from germination.

2 Likes

I’ve noticed when I’ve transplanted, it takes close to a week for them to “settle in” and start growing again. All mine stood still after transplanting. I think it won’t be long until you see faster growth.

3 Likes

The slow growth is absoletly normal after you put them in solo cups they are making roots, they soon gone a thrive, it took usealy 1-2 week(s) to settle down after put in solo cups or other container.

Hope that I have enlighten you a bit :innocent::v:

1 Like

Great minds think alike! :+1:

1 Like

Lol :grinning: :joy::sweat_smile::innocent::+1::ok_hand::v:

1 Like

Thanks for reply. They look healthy. Guess I am a little impatient . they germinated so easily and had first growth soon after .

2 Likes

We all are/were at some point as well. After a little time and the “new” excitement wears off, you’ll be okay just letting them grow and watching it happen. When we start, we just want to see something happening or have something to do in the garden. In the end, they’re better mostly just left alone.

3 Likes

Thanks , I am encouraged by your reply . I have plenty of light after transplant . room is 76 degrees with 45% humidity. light air movement from fan .

2 Likes

Might want to up your RH for a little while, if you can. Maybe closer to 60%. 45% is in the acceptable range though so if you can’t, not the end of the world.

Thanks will try. They came out from 78 degrees and 75% RH. into the grow room. will try to increase RH.

1 Like