Super Excited Newbie Here

Hi All,
I’ve been lurking for some time now, and I am finally ready to introduce myself. I purchased ILGM Amnesia Haze seeds earlier this month, and received them just in time for Christmas. (In fact, they are a Christmas present, to the hubby and me!) I decided to only start one seed to begin with, and see if I can keep it alive all the way to harvest before blowing a whole crop before it even gets anywhere. I tried growing some plants 20 years ago, but for whatever reason (I suspect not enough light) they all died within a month of sprouting. :frowning: So now that recreational cannabis is just about to become officially legal in my state (January 1st!), I’m trying again.

So… On December 24 I put one little seed in water for 24 hours.
On December 25 I saw it had a seam, and the bottom was starting to open. Then I took the seed out of the water and put it between two moist paper towels, under a full spectrum lamp to stay warm.
On December 26 it had a root tail, so I put it into a Jiffy peat pot with some organic seed starter soil. (As my username implies, I am actually very successful at starting herb seeds indoors). And I waited, and I talked to my little seed, and said nice things to it…
and this evening, December 28, my little seed is starting to raise its lovely little shoulders above the soil! Yay!

One other thing I did was, I draped a hand towel over my lamp, to help hold some of the warmth from the light in the space where the plant is (it’s so small right now I just have it on a book case). I also wrapped some aluminum foil around the jiffy pot, to help insulate it. Our house is rather on the cold side for trying to grow anything, as the hubby prefers to keep the room temperature below 65. I mist it with a water bottle a couple times a day, just to keep the soil surface moist.