First Indoor Auto Grow! Need a Basic Soil Mix!

Good evening!
New member here, and I would first like to say THANK YOU everyone for all of the knowledge I have gained from previous topics thus far!

I have some gardening experience, but decided for my first cannabis grow on auto White Widow as it was recommended for beginners like me. I have decided on all other materials: tent, pots, lighting, fans etc, but I’m stuck on soil and nutrients! To be honest, when I see these super long lists of soil/amendments, it overwhelms me. I’m looking for a fairly easy, mostly organic, intuitive indoor soil grow even though I know bottled nutes, PGRs, etc are all the rage these days. I would prefer the least amount of those items as possible with maybe some bloom nutrients if I absolutely must. I’m going for quality over quantity of buds , and I dont mind a slightly smaller yield for sake of simplicity. The less I have to deviate from what I normally do with my veggies and other plants, the better!

I am considering Sun Gold’s Black Gold Natural and Organic Soil Brand. It’s local and affordable. Will this soil last through vegetation phase at least nutrient-wise? Will it burn seedlings? At very least, I was just going to mix soil with compost, perlite and dolomite that I already have, and maybe add some mycorrhizal fungi for roots.Will this suffice for a decent first grow? Thanks for help! I cant wait to get started!

51w68u DD1L.AC_SY450|356x450

2 Likes

I strongly suggest getting a soil buffered for cannabis. Fox Farms, Roots Organics, Black Magic etc. If the soil you’ve chosen mentions “moisture control” or “feeds for x months” or time released nutrients then it may cause problems. Stay away from Miracle Grow whatever you do.

Your ideas on nutes are good. Many new growers overdo it, and with most soils you won’t need to add nutrients until you get near flowering. I use Fox Farm Happy Frog and never introduce nutes until 5 weeks after the last transplant.