Newbie with a million Q's getting ready for this summers outdoor

Hi all,

I’m a newbie from the south & I pulled the trigger on some White Widow Autoflower & I’m going to have a go at some outdoor this summer. I’ve got a million questions & I’ve been reading as many threads as I can, but that’s just making it worse for questions, lol.

First few Q’s are, what soil should I use? What size pots should I use? When is the best time to start/germinate? How do I know when to water, & how often do I fertilize? Do I really need to use 100 different ferts like in some other threads? Is Canna Bio Vega, Flores & Boost adequate for my first grow to be successful?

I could go on but I think that will do for now, & I’m sure the answers will end up creating more questions, lol.

Thanks in advance for the help.

1 Like

Hi @Buds007. Welcome to the ILGM forum. Lots of questions there, just like the rest of us. OK, on the soil, I don’t think I can tell you the best to use as there seem to be so many but do NOT use MiracleGro soils, I used Fox Farm Ocean Forest but next time I grow I think I will layer FFOF and FF Happy Frog so that my soil wont be too “hot” or full of nutrients that can burn the plants when they are babies. If you use a nutrient rich soil from the beginning then you probably won’t have to have nutrients for your plants for at least 4 weeks. I think a lot of people use whole systems of feeding for their plants and I can’t speak to that. I use the 3 Biobizz organic nutrition and had to add Cal/Mag due to some minor deficiencies. I don’t know about Canna Bio Vega but I am sure others will stop by and lend you a hand. I am a newbie at this myself, about 3 weeks out from harvesting my White Widow Auto. Good to meet you

1 Like

Getting kinda late for an outside grow, but if you have nice weather an auto is the way to go with the shorter days.