World's worst at topping?

…is it me ? :thinking:

I’ve gotten better at it using a pair of nail clippers but I’m still not so great

How do you top your plants?

What tools do you use ?

Any hacks, techniques or videos you could share ?

-thanks in advance

toenail clippers? Too much info :scream:

These are great, small tips, spring assisted, strong…

https://www.amazon.com/Fiskars-Softouch-Micro-Tip-Pruning-Snip/dp/B00004SD76/ref=sr_1_3?ie=UTF8&qid=1468495707&sr=8-3&keywords=Fiskars+shear

I am not a pro, but my casual observations…I wait till at least 7 nodes, for strong plant growth…I like topping between nodes 5-6, or 6-7 and will wait a day or so to allow adequate space between nodes. It’s a 4 month grow, what are a few days in the beginning?..I will not allow side branches at nodes 1-3, they usually grow out thinner…

5 Likes

I have those exact trimmers - they’re pretty awesome for trimming bud but the reason I use Nail Clippers (not toenail, a small new pair)

I can get the clippers right down on top of the smallest new growth tip and just take that without damaging or accidentally cutting anything else

Before used razor blades and as they grew I could see where I was missing and half cutting but with clippers so far I’ve been doing much better

2 Likes

:sunglasses:
I just use my fingers and pinch it off, but that may be because I continuously top until flower.

5 Likes

Before I got the Fiskars, I had used fine tipped scissors…the new pruning snips provided a great upgrade…I just thought the tips on them would be better than the nail clippers…or even a razor blade/xacto blade…the handles and strong, small tips gave me a more secure, exact cut.

My finger pinches weren’t as exact…clumsy compared to the snips

1 Like

just hold the tip of the plant with 2 fingers and with the other hand take 1 finger and push to the side the top u wanna pop of it comes right out

My finger pinches are the worst!