Where do I do my drying?

I am about 4 to 6 weeks out from harvest ( should be around 3rd week in October). Mine was a outside grow regular seeds got from friend ice og. Problem is I don’t know where to dry. Inside house not a option but part of the garage is. Also I have a covered porch off master bedroom does not get any direct sunlight. Was thinking about tarping the porch and getting as dark as possible with few fans moving the air. The average temps for end oct beginning of Nov highs of low 70’s lies in the mid 60’s central valley ca so not worried about rain. And being out side the smell might dissapate faster. Amy ideas would be greatly appreciated.

1 Like

What’s the RH% inside vs outside. When I lived in San Diego, the RH was to low to dry outside.

3 Likes

I looked up average for my area in October 53% Nov 69%

1 Like

Mr Harold-
Necessity is the mother of invention, and sealing off the covered porch should be ok. If not, use a little space in your garage. I dont know how big your plants are but you could get a few totes and put the buds in those to dry. You’d need to burp them daily for a week or two then its into mason jars with boveda packs.

1 Like

5 plants three r 6’ and 2 are almost 7’ first grow so nothing to compare to but the look full of buds. Just worried garage area will be to small.

It’s rare to see someone dry outside, but if you can keep it dark with a gentle breeze and RH in the 60s you will be fine IMO.

1 Like

Not ideal but might have to do this year. Or drying racks in garage. But heard racks are bad for the buds

1 Like

Zee-
If he puts what he harvested in colored totes then that would keep the light out. And he could leave the tops cracked and run a fan over them. Its not ideal, but it could work. You could even put hygrometers in to make sure the humidity doesn’t get too high/low. What do you think?

1 Like