When to start nutrients, and how often?

I’ve purchased nutrients from Amazon (I believe it’s floraboom and floramicro brand). I understand the ratios of NPK and such.

This is my first time growing and my plant is about 11 days. (Sour diesel) I’m using soil and here’s the last picture I took.

-feminized sour diesel seeds
-indoor
-soil
NUTRIENTS BOUGHT:
----Floramicro: 5-0-1
----Floraboom: 0-5-4
-temperature is generally between 68-75
-humidity between 60-70%
-I’ll attach a picture of the light being used (45 watts)

My questions are, when do I start adding the nutrients? And how often do I add them? I’ve also read to not add the nutrients 100% how it says. I’ve read to do ¼ of the amount. Anyone have any suggestions?
Any additional information or experience is SO appreciated! Thanks so much

1 Like

Hey @Sskretkz Welcome to the forum. With most soils you don’t need to feed for the first 3-4 weeks. What soil are you using? With nutrients how I run(I am indoor with soil) is water, water, feed. The time in which it takes between watering is determined by the soil and the size of the roots i.e. how much water they are sucking up. For right now I would only be spraying them with water 2-3 times a day until they get a few more nodes.

your plant will not need any feeding until the cotyledons die off…that is the little round leaves that came out first.
on feeding,…most people feed every other watering…you want to start with 1/4 of recommended dosage, then gradually increase the strength as your plant shows tolerance.

That light will be fine for the first few weeks…but you will need more power to finish your grow. Listed at 45w…is probably in the 17-22 range as far as actual wattage… general rule of thumb is 26 watts per square foot minimum when using LED lighting…