When to flush out nutes

Newbie here, how often do you flush out the nutes in your plants? Mine are in veggie stage about a week or two before transition. I’ve not flushed at all yet and would like to know when I should flush

a flush depends on nutrient use, what’s in the soil, plant health…

if when you water your plants slowly with properly pH’ed water and there’s a run off of 20% extra water, that is a flush washing old nutes out with every watering/feeding…that could be enough for your plants.

you may choose to flush at transition to flowering, sort of mid growth, give your girls a fresh start, probably not necessary but many of us are neurotic, compulsive people with our routines :wink:

and after that a flush should be up to plant health to correct pH or nutrient imbalances…a flush is stressful to the plant if done too often or improperly or unnecessarily.

I don’t use Fox Farm nutes but I think @Countryboyjvd1971 does and has flushed regularly per the instructions…which may be due to using the manufacturers feeding schedule, usually a little heavy with high ppm numbers…many of the instructions recommend using high ppm numbers of 2000 per feeding which will leave excess nutes behind.

I’m kind of old school aiming for a starting ppm of 300-400 for a first feeding, moving up to 800 ppm during veg and then near 1200 ppm at transition up to 1600 max during flowering.

6 Likes

Thanks for very informative text. As you can tell I didn’t have a clue. I’ve only been giving nutes every other day for about 8 days.
Honestly don’t like to put anything on them. Afraid of hurting them. Guess with experience I’ll be able to. Just topped them and all have healthy new growth.

1 Like

@Laurap I do follow the ff schedule except feeding once a week instead of the twice they recommend
And yes as @kabongster stated flushing if following schedule will be need
I wish I can say I learned this the easy way but didn’t hahhaha