What is wrong here?

A question from a fellow grower:

I’m new to growing and I have 2 plants growing outside in 3 gallon containers that I grew from seeds that I planted in early June. They are starting to flower. Some older leaves are turning brown and some are turning yellow. It has been hot as blazes here and they get full sun for about 8 hours per day

It might be from the heat, or actually sun scald. Is it getting cooler in your area now?

Heat stress has been the given answer I keep seeing for leaf curl (upwards). I seriously doubt that it should be used as a blanket response. I have a serious problem that seems to be a new disorder with outdoor cannabis grows, as I have been hearing of others with this, yet unidentified, problem. I know it is not heat stress. Last year was the first time in 20 years of outdoor growing that I noticed this phenomenon, the leaves curl upwards and all of the vegetative matter turns silver colored. Also this year it is especially bad, and now most of my garden is being affected, even the 12 footers are now showing this effect. It seems to be selective (to breed?) as some plants are only slightly affected while others are server. Even portions of some plants are healthy while some branches show this abnormality. I noticed that the tips of the leaves on the most unhealthy plants look to have a reddish, or brownish build-up, almost like a powder when viewed up close and it does wipe off when rubbed. I viewed this (powder) with high powered googles and actually saw movement. Now I have used these googles to view and see quite well Spider Mites, yet these (?) were so small that I think the only way to really see what this is would require a high power microscope. Does anyone know of such thing as Micro Mites???