What is the best way to install an INLINE carbon filter?

All of the information I am finding is general carbon filter placement, but I am buying an INLINE carbon filter and I am confused on the placement of the filter and fan and ducting? My grow room will be 4 x 4 x 7 with one small window. Thank you for any information. I am a total newbie, so forgive my lack of knowledge.

1 Like

Depends if u have room to install all that outside tdnt to keep as much room in as possible.

I have a 5x5 and keep an 8" fan (with filter) at the top center of the interior of the tent, though fan and filter can be installed outside of the tent if necessary.

i have to keep everything inside my little room and use the window. I cannot put anything outside

1 Like

inline means in one end and out the other in a straight line. the fan is in the same line as the intake side of the fan and its outflow.
Some will use multiple fans. one for exhausting the tent and another for drawing air into the tent. Then of course large spaces may need more than one fan and with larger flow capacities.
Are you wanting to set up exhaust or an intake fan?
this is my intake fan.

I put my exhaust fan on the outside to give me more height in the tent. Usually air is drawn through the filter. This also requires the filter be in the tent or have some type of special enclosure. In my case I blow the exhaust air through the filter

3 Likes

Nice setup, @beardless

1 Like

I didn’t even have to move my fishing poles hanging from the ceiling

2 Likes

I bought a 6in fan and I’m buying a 6in 400 cfm carbon inline filter. So, should I intsall the fan then ducting into the carbon filter, then more ducting straight to the window?

Is it better to just buy a regular carbon filter, not an inline carbon filter, for a simple grow room setup?