What can the trimmings be used for?

After drying what are the leaves that are trimmed from the buds for. I have heard the leaves don’t smoke well but it seems like a waste. Cooking? I am new at this.

Thanks in advance.

My friends make butter and oils from them.

Butter, sweet delicious butter. :+1::+1::+1:

1 Like

there is so much you can do with it. time for you to google some things. bubble hash, bho, decarbing, rosin press and you will find tons of info on what you are looking for.

I say coconut oil and don’t give me it’s bad for you so is butter smoking and red meat lol I can pass on The recipe but you need a sous vide cooker

5 Likes

Are we talking the sticky sugar leaves or the fan leaves? The sugar leaves can make butter or oil and it’s very strong if the strain is powerful @Beachbound. Sometimes I forget how strong it can be and end up zombied out for several hours when I use too much of either butter or oil.

1 Like

If I may piggy back @Beachbound. I made butter for my wife to make edibles. Followed a recipe for cannabutter but she complained about the weed taste. I decarbed wet trim before making it. Question is, if I dry the trim for a couple days and then decarb it, will that knock down some of the “weed” flavor? I’d like the butter to just taste like butter if that’s possible.

1 Like

You can put vanilla in it to mask some of the flavor. It does taste like cannabis for sure. I dry and cure mine the same way as the bud. Maybe that’s why it’s so strong sometimes. I might not use a jar for a month. I eat it with something pleasant like a sweet roll in the morning or muffin and it’s not bad. You get used to it. For people who will only tolerate a small amount of weed taste, I bake a stick of butter into 6 muffins or something like that.

2 Likes

Look up “bubble hash”. as well. You can just use ice and water to get the goodies off the leaves - and then you can either smoke it, make dabs, make butter or oil, whatever.

1 Like