Weed flavor and scent

I’ve been growing a variety of strains for about 4 years (ourdoors). I had eight different strains this year, some with very distinct scents like strawberry Ice, Tangerine, Lemon Haze. This is the first year that they all smell and taste almost the same with no strong scents of other years. They were all grouped in one area. is it possible that they cross pollinated? Ever had this issue come up?

3 Likes

First, welcome to the community!

Male plants would have to be involved for any pollination to occur, and you’d have seeds. And I think the smell/taste would be unaffected by pollination since what is in play are the terpenes. The terpenes are a product of the individual plant.

I would think that if they all smell/taste the same it would be more likely related to drying/curing, but maybe weather could be involved as well.

1 Like

Plants will go through phases where they don’t emit much odor and other times it knocks you down.

2 Likes

Welcome! Plant smells come and go.

1 Like

Maybe it is the weather. we had an awful lot of rain this year in New England, more than most years. I’ve been fighting bud rot too.
Thanks for the input.

2 Likes

It is a mystery…

They should be smelling now as it’s harvest time. If you pull them early they won’t have much smell

1 Like

They are actually a bit past harvest time.

If you rub the plant a little between your fingers how do they smell?

Pretty close to the same for all of them. They are very sticky.

1 Like

Greetings @fanatic01!
I saw your post and thought I’d chime in. This past year I had two harvest. I too have the same issues smelling both my crops. Id suggest you get an expert over and have them do the smell test.
But first, read this.
First harvest; Space Cake, Purple Passion, Crystal Rain, and (1) bag seed. All were grown from seed and all but the bag seed were also cloned. Each was grown from hydroponics; Aqua and Coco.