Water question - tap or distilled?

Hey all, quick question. I’m gonna start an autoflower in FFOF with added perlite. I’m new to PPM and I have a quick question about the water I use. My tap water is 225ppm, my distilled drinking water is 18ppm. Should I water with tap or distilled, or does it not matter? I’ll adjust ph before watering but I’m not really sure what I’m doing with ppm. Thanks so much

What’s the pH of your tap water after you set it out overnight/24hrs?

1 Like

Good question, I’ll let you know tomorrow

tap water ph is 8.3 after leaving it out overnight

1 Like

So you might want to pH down before watering; however, OF has been too acidic recently, so it might balance out. Maybe do a test cup and see how the runoff tests.

In the end, soil is pretty forgiving, but you want to get slightly acidic.

Edit: the ppm is also inconsequential for a water-only soil. Save some money and use tap water.

2 Likes

Great, thanks so much. Using tap water definitely saves me some time and money!

2 Likes