Water pH testing and runoff?

Hey gang; just soaked and planted - sprouts ~10mm tall now after 36hr.
I’ll be the 1st to say it - I’m a newbie and I don’t know what the hell I’m doing! With that said; I’m trying to read and understand other posts on this an similar topics. Here we go…
My tap H2O is filtered ‘Zero Water’ and tests at 9.8pH. I used this to soak and also water/moisten the Germination soil in which the seedlings have begun to grow. I have 4 other seeds soaking and have popped - almost ready to plant.

1. Should I adjust my pH in H2O prior to use in germination soil? If so, then how to lower the pH?
    I have Vivosun pH and TDS testers.
  2. What is “run off” and how do I get an accurate pH of the soil?
    Kindly RSVP ASAP.
    Thanks,
    Douglas~
1 Like

pH is best adjusted all through the grow, even sprouting.
It will tolerate the wrong pH early as the roots are not absorbing anything yet. But you are going to have to get that under control. Seems high even for city water. Do you know your PPMs ?
If its like RO or distilled any reading is suspect as distilled water is neutral and very hard to get an accurate pH reading. You wont water to runoff til the plant gets larger, like 3 weeks or so.

2 Likes

We can provide better help with some more info.
COPY/PASTE the below list into your forum post.

Answer these simple questions the best you can.
If you do not know, or do not use something; Just say so; Or post
NA (non applicable)

What strain, Seed bank, or bag seed

Method: Soil w/salt, Organic soil, Hydroponics, Aquaponics, KNF

Vessels: Pots, Grow beds, Buckets, Troths

PH of Water, Solution, runoff (if Applicable)

PPM/TDS or EC of nutrient solution if applicable

Indoor or Outdoor

Light system

Temps; Day, Night

Humidity; Day, Night

Ventilation system; Yes, No, Size

AC, Humidifier, De-humidifier,

Co2; Yes, No

Spiny_N,