Want to make the right choices from here

Hi. So I’m the type of person who wants to know I’m spending money only on the “best” stuff, even if it’s more expensive and more than I need, which gets me into trouble sometimes. (For example, I’m a musician with lots of gear I don’t use to its full potential, but it’s really good gear.) I’m a medical cannabis user and want to grow for personal use with some extra to perhaps make some edibles. In the future, if I dig it, I may want to grow more.

Before I really did any research, I bought some White Widow autoflower seeds from ILGM and the 5-gallon starter kit from apotforpot.com. (I’ll be growing in soil.) So I’ve spent about $200 so far and could conceivably grow a single plant outside. My itchy buying finger really wants to buy a grow tent setup. I have in my head that I want a 4x4, but the rational part of my brain says that’s more than I need, so I’m dialing it back to a 3x3. I think I’m gonna buy the Gorilla Grow 3x3 tent. For lights, I’m gonna go with Quantum Boards from Horticulture Lighting Group. I’m trying to decide between the 260W V2 Rspec or the 260W V2 3000 or the 260W XW 3000. Is the Rspec a worthy step up from the 3000? Would a XW configuration suit my needs better than the regular one, taking into consideration I may want to expand down the road? If I was just going to buy one thing now, I should get the light first, right?

I appreciate any thoughts.

2 Likes

It sounds like you are on the right track and getting some good research under your belt before attempting your first grow. You will need a good pH probe and EC probe.

As far as the tent size goes, everyone has different needs and expectations. I have expanded twice since starting 18 months ago. Starting with just one or two plants is a great way to learn without too much pressure.

4 Likes