VIRGINIA mold, damn rain!

With all the rain I’ve been getting my but kicked with mold. I even placed all my plants under an patio umbrella for this last weeklong on/off rain. Still mild in all of them.
Anyone else?

4 Likes

I feel for you guys that live in humid areas, I live in the desert and got some mold this year. The last time I had to deal with mold was like in the mid 90s

2 Likes

Hi, welcome to the community. Mold and WPM this year in NY too, lost a bunch. Had mine covered as well :person_shrugging:

Welcome jabrone, and yes it’s been a tough year, I’ve been pretty fortunate, I’ve been doing this outdoor thing for many years, and have learned a lot. I’ve only lost a small amount so far this year, but still not completely done with harvest yet, so keeping my fingers crossed it keeps going ok.

2 Likes

Just over 4oz lost to mold in Mass. They lived under a plastic canopy throughout flower. Just too much rain… too much humidity… not enough sun.

3 Likes

Welcome to the community ! I hate that for you . Anytime dealing with mold is a bummer.

4 Likes

I live in Virginia as well, enjoying our first year of legal pot.

I went with autoflowers, planted in the ground in my well-amended garden soil, just like growing a tomato. No extra nutes, other than a top dressing of compost every few weeks.

I planted in mid May, and was done by the first week of August, before the cooler, wetter weather set in. Got over a pound of dry bud, from four plants. I was just starting to see the first small dead sugar leaves indicative of rot when I harvested. Those two suspect buds went in the trash.

If I had waited two more weeks to plant, that would have put me close to September to harvest, and I probably would have been battling mold and rot big time.

I may try an experiment next summer, running two autos and two photos of the same strains and see what happens.

4 Likes

Hell of a year to grow in North East. Smallish plants mold, rain, cloudy days.