Vents at tent bottom

Lil help on the venting. I got the Mars-hydro 2.3x2.3 tent kit am unsure about how much to open vents on bottom. Do I keep them closed? If so is that hard on the fan? If open do I need to open about 4inches in diameter worth of vent or all of the way?

any help please. Pic shows vents.

1 Like

i keep mine open but with a twist! i bout me some PUREBURG 1-PACK Cut-to-Fit Carbon Pad 16 x 48 inches for Air Filters Charcoal Sheet and cut them out to fit on the outside of tent vents , and some Strenco 2 Inch Adhesive Black Hook and Loop Tape to make it stick… links below from amazon

https://www.amazon.com/gp/product/B00H3R9S1K/ref=ppx_yo_dt_b_asin_title_o00_s00?ie=UTF8&psc=1

3 Likes

If you have smell concerns you would aim for negative pressure inside your tent…
Look out for the tent walls to bulge inwards, that’s when you have negative pressure.

That is all i have to contribute… Regarding climate control I’m not experienced at all…

2 Likes

I had not considered filtering the intake air. Why do you? I mean I know why I might do that but why did you do it?

My vents on the bottom are mesh, and you’ll be surprised how much fuzz collects on them. I vacuum the screen every month or so. Seems to collect more in summer though, probably the higher airflow season. :man_shrugging:

2 Likes

Mine are mesh too…have to keep an eye on them. Any comments to the open-ness of your vents? Suggestions most welcome. First time Gardner here.

I keep my vents open, for a passive intake. I have my exhaust fan set up for negative tent pressure.

1 Like

You have convinced me to be brave and experiment. I’m gonna open em up one at a time. See what it does inside.

1 Like

Just remember to close them for dark if you are growing photos the screens don’t stop light

1 Like