Vacation Watering Indoor Soil Grow

How does one water an autoflower indoor soil grow when away for an extended period of time?

I’m new to growing MJ. Big time indoor and outdoor veggie gardener. I am three weeks into an autoflower grow (blueberry) and I may have to leave town for a week due to a potential family emergency. Could be any time in the next month. I have used watering stakes for houseplants in the past (ceramic with wine bottle type) but don’y know if this will work. I have four 3 gallon smartpots in a tent with LED light. Temps reliably between 73-78. Worried that my plants will dry out unless I have some system in place to water. I’m in MA so its legal to grow my own but don’t want to advertise. As a very last resort I have a buddy that I trust to do a watering for me. But, as they say, the first rule in keeping a secret is to not tell anyone. Any ideas? The sudden departures may be necessary several time this spring/summer.

Went thru this recently. I was gone 6 days, adjusted my feeding schedule before hand, fed/watered the day I left and filled the stakes with water. Then on day 4 had a friend water and top off stakes. I left ph’d water for him. My plants were fine. I had 2 flowering, 2 vegging at the time. Hope this helps.

They actually have an answer for prolonged hydration besides timers they call it water crystals Soil Moist is one brand it can be added to soil at start and what they do is absorb water turning into a gel which slow releases water to your plants it can retain moisture for week or more. But plant stakes are simple option too or self watering trays

1 Like

There is another solution that @garrigan62 is using on his current grow to water his plants. I will post the link

https://www.amazon.com/gp/product/B000U5YFR4/ref=ox_sc_sfl_title_14?tag=greenrel-20

2 Likes