Upgrading lights

Trying to upgrade my old purple LEDs. I just don’t understand how to compare lights anymore. I was looking at the Electric Sky180 but then recently came across the Spider Farmer2000. Which to me looks all around better, price and performance, I was just hoping to get a second opinion before spending that much.

Spider Farmer- Amazon.com
Electric Sky- https://www.amazon.com/gp/product/B07CNPK6DK/ref=ox_sc_saved_title_1?smid=A1DRCTIWEURJK3&psc=1

1 Like

@dbrn32 can weigh in here. He’s the lighting guru.

I’m no expert, but I do swear by my HLG Rspec lights.

4 Likes

I’m always considering that price isn’t the same as cost, and that customer service is qualitative.

Some lights are powerful. Some lights are good (efficient). Some lights are both. The long term outlook is to buy a good and powerful light because the operating cost is usually a consideration, more so for some of us in expensive energy markets.

The import lamps on Amazon can be powerful, and maybe they’re efficient, but the customer service can be tedious. I’ve heard nothing but praise for HLG’s customer service.

2 Likes

I’ve recently upgraded lights. I started with 2 450w Viparspectra’s on first grow. Half way through second I updated to 2 260w Rspec led board lights from Budget Led. They did excellent job. Depending on your budget and time frame, you should definitely check out HLG Led kits. Many growers on forum have lights from them and are happy with them. I recently updated lights again with DIY PLC Photo Boost strips. Results to come soon from 3rd grow. You definitely should do a little more research before making a decision. @dbrn32 would be the one to ask about performance and technical issues

2 Likes

I recommend HLG, Timber Grow lights, or Rapid LED (if your handy)
You can easily get a better quality light when you’re putting something together yourself. @ThcHemplar
Edit: at the price point HLG will fit that budget best.

2 Likes