Unhealthy seedling

A question from a fellow grower:

Only 1 seed germinated on the 7th day. It does not look healthy (slow growth) but I am I’m working with it. I guess I am a little disappointed since I followed the advice given on the web site. I used a starter cube to minimize “user error”.

I am a serious beginner. I’ve purchased all necessary items to start an indoor grow so set up is solid. What should I do? I just want this to work.

I am indoors and the humidity has maintained at approximately 50 % and the temp. at approximately 80 degrees. I am careful about overwatering in this phase (based upon what I have read) due to roots not getting enough oxygen. I keep a consistent air flow. I do not have a humidifier/dehumidifier or Co2. . Also, should strength of nutrient mix, EC, or TDS matter at the germination stage? I hope the pictures I have sent explain/answer some of the questions you have, if not please let me know since I am going to make this work.

1 Like

Place a clear plastic cup over her it will hold moisture at around the 70-80% rh try to relax quite often plants focus heavy on roots before showing much top growth they also don’t need circulation fan early it draws moisture off them faster than they can provide it. Which looks to be a large part of the issue aside from the rich soil the roots are attempting to start in, I typically layer my soil or transplant to different soil as plants get larger.

Mainly it’s the large fan that is pulling the moisture out of her I would use the cup as suggested and may even move her to a starter soil in a smaller pot until she’s a bit larger 3-4 trues leaf sets

1 Like