Understanding Cooling and Heating an Indoor Tent / Grow Space - Info Guide

Hi Grower,

I wanted to put together a good topic that can be a central point to guide people to answering some questions about heating and cooling an indoor tent or grow space from the viewpoint of an engineer.

I am an electrical engineer with a minor in bioengineering (human not plant). I will be covering some topics that most might not take into account when setting up a tent or if they begin to experience heat and cooling issues. While I have years of experience with my jobs and calculating thermal dynamic tests I would like to see others give their advice on what I will provide here. I use the methods I will cover in this myself and while I won’t go in-depth on the physics calculations I will at least discuss basic thermal dynamics and how they will affect your indoor grow space.

For starters it’s important to know the difference between cooler air and warmer air. At the most basics for creating a controlled environment you need to remember that cooler air is more dense and will be lower to the floor than warmer air. As well molecules are always trying to reach equilibrium with surrounding objects transferring hot to cold not cold to hot. These are important to remember when you experience temperature issues.

Difference between Absolute and Relative Humidity

Humidity