Tropical grow in Costa Rica

I’m a newbie grower who recently retired and moved to Costa Rica. Because of the location close to the equator, we only have a 12 hour day year round. I brought a small grow tent knowing the photo-sensitive feminized seeds I brought (ILGM of course!) would need a more normal light cycle so I’d have to do an indoor grow for those. I’ve got a Gelato and a Zkittlez that I have under lights for most of the night but bring outside during the day to help increase size and keep my electric bill down. Currently on a 20/4 cycle. What are everyone’s thoughts on bringing plants outside during the day?

I’m waiting on delivery (in the US) for a shipment of Banana Kush auto seeds. I’ll be growing them outside exclusively. The soil here is awesome! Rich volcanic soil which drains very well. I’ll amend with coconut shell fibers. We essentially have 2 seasons here in Costa Rica. The rainy season and the dry season. Because of the high humidity during the rainy season, I’m restricting my outdoor grow to the dry season. I’d love to grow outside year round though.

So 2 questions. What varieties of auto-flowering plants do you think would do best in high humidity situations? And is it a good or bad idea to bring my plants from under the grow lights out into the natural sunlight every day? They are accustomed to the daily move so aren’t getting “burnt” by the higher light levels in the sunlight. Thanks!

5 Likes

Here’s a couple pics of the Gelato and the Zkittlez.

12 Likes

I did this regularly when I lived in SoCal. I too liked the idea of free light and it does fine. That said you need to take precautions against insect pests that will destroy your crop.

You can grow photoperiod plants outside on the Equator: look at Colombia. Huge plantations and what they do is stimulate the plants with a 30 minute light exposure around midnight which tricks the plants into thinking it’s a longer day. Doesn’t even need a huge amount of light either.

15 Likes