Trimming- wet or dry

Newbie here, first grow. I’m approaching harvest and I’d like to know which is the best way to get the trimming done in my lifetime. My colas are fat and filled with leaf material . Not the tightest bus, but ok for my first grow. Strain is gorilla glue autoflower. My light for the grow was a 600w led.
New light,
Optic LED Optic 6 Gen3 COB Grow Light 605W UV/IR - has HID Equivalent of 1000w hps. Hoping for a little better buds for the next grow.
Thanks

2 Likes

They make hand crank trimmers. I personally use scissors when it’s dry and use the tips to peel, if you will, the leaves away from the bud and snip them off. I haven’t used a hand crank one and I’ve heard mixed reviews. I’m going to try one just for hand cramps. It took me a day and a half to do 7oz by hand.

2 Likes

Thanks for the advice. Well, I will get a reprieve from the chore for a week or so while they dry.

Thanks again

1 Like

I would only use an auto-trimmer if you can process the trim.
And only dry trim if you use an auto-trimmer.

2 Likes

Thanks. Just trying to save me some time.

Kevin

1 Like

I ALWAYS trim dry. Last harvest I had over 3.5lbs, so I bought a hand crank bowl trimmer. What would have taken me days, only took minutes. I wouldn’t be without one now.

2 Likes

Thanks for the help. Just watched a few videos. Looks like a viable option for me. No 3.5 lbs in my tent, I’d be happy with a fraction of that. Colas are approximately a foot long, just a shiteload of leaves.

4 Likes

Old school is to start leaf removal a week or so before harvest and trim again after the chop. It also depends on what you are looking for out of your flower. I leave a little sugar on mine but others hate the chlorophyll.

4 Likes

Thanks. It looks like a daunting task ahead of me.

1 Like

I also first time btw dry trimmed. Easier to cut throw also.