Trichome color and appearance

Good day to you all!

I have two GG4 autoflowering plants that sprouted on May 29th, 2022. I’ve been watching the color of the trichomes lately and they’re still clear. This is my first successful grow. I want to learn how to grow really well so that when I start using photoperiod seeds I don’t mess up and ruin weeks or months worth of growing. I have an LED x60 jeweler’s loupe that I use. Thanks in advance for your answers to my question.

@Graysin thanks for helping me a little bit last week!

So, my question is, how long does it take for the colors of the trichomes to change?

1 Like

Trichomes will start turning during the very last weeks of flowering.

1 Like

How many weeks of flowering for the GG4? Is there a section in ILGM that shows this info. I’m pretty new to serious growing and I almost feel like an idiot sometimes.

Most strains will mature the trichomes in 8 to 10 weeks, give or take. It’s just not possible to nail it down more precisely.

2 Likes

Thank you for your info! I’ll keep a diligent eye on those little girls!

1 Like

2 Likes

Here’s you an example. This GG auto has been flowering for 7 weeks, and no amber trichomes yet. I posted this on the autoflowers section and was told a couple more weeks.

3 Likes

Most certainly!

A long time. Think of it like growing a fruit of pretty much any kind. It will emerge from the tree or plant as a tiny little nub, and grow over time. I have an apricot tree and it always kills me to watch them grow because it’s dreadfully slow. They begin as small green balls and grow grow grow into a ripe apricot about the size of my palm - not massive by any stretch, and it takes a solid 3 months from the moment I see the small green balls form.