Transplanting in fabric bags

I just noticed this today. The roots are growing right through the fabric bags. I have never used fabric bags before. Can I just leave the bag on and transplant to 5 gallon pots or should I remove them.

I didn’t think the roots would grow through the bag

@raustin @BIGE @WickedAle @Sirsmokes

3 Likes

D oh know what the material is? How much larger is the pot you are transplanting to? I would be worried the fabric is to tight to allow good root transfer. You might damage roots pulling the bag off but you would be better off doing that then having the roots bind up in in the bag if it is tight weave non-degradable material.

1 Like

Just strip the bag off and live and let live… plant will be fine… trust me… shedding roots won’t kill them , contrary to belief… :wink:
I have went root cutting crazy before… just like the leafs… no more then 1/3 plant material… roots as well… :wink:

:v::sunglasses:

3 Likes

I have cut roots in my aeroponics systems with good results. I just thought these fabric bags where impenetrable like my 5 gallon bags
@peachfuzz

1 Like

So what you have started? Link to the journal? I want to watch.

2 Likes

I agree. I hack the shit out of my hostas and they grow back bigger. When transplanting other plants thay actually suggest disturbing the root ball to get the plant to throw more roots.

1 Like

I haven’t started a journal yet but here is what I got going.

just feed them yesterday for the first time so they look a little yellow.

I have 4 blueberry 2 banana kush and 1 GSCE

6 Likes

Nice start!! I’ll keep my eye out for the journal.

1 Like

I’ve only used cloth and haven’t had that problem. Your not even in flower yet and it’s already happening. How wide are your pots?

1 Like

I have roots growing out of my 7gal bags. I too was surprised. I thought the bags were “self pruning”.

3 Likes