Total newb making soil for in ground outdoor plants

I’m pretty new to growing so please bear with me. This year I’m gearing up for my first legal outdoor grow. I need help deciding the best soil mixture. My plan is to dig a hole the size of a five gallon bucket and mix 1 part fox farms happy frog 1 part ff of 1 part of my own top soil which is a black clay and 20 percent perlite will this work or will it cause problems. I have 0 experience with soil nutes all help is greatly appreciated

2 Likes

Do you have good drainage? I would make sure of that and may need to dig a deeper hole to accommodate the plant.

Building soil is tough. You are going to want a large amount of peat so soil stays loose. Stay away from clay. If I were doing this I’d add worm castings, 1/4 cup of lime, composted chicken manure, if you have access to bat guano that would be good. Then mix and allow to compost together as long as you can before using.

Starting plants under lights to give them a good head start is also a good thing.

@Big123 any thoughts?

6 Likes

So even though I’m using ffof and Ffhf I’m ok to ad bat guano and castings I’m not sure about drainage yet I haven’t dug my holes. I have a pile of really good black top soil where Polk greens grow I’m not sure it’s clay. And I can get some pro mix with peat to mix in also

3 Likes

I’m also unsure of how to start them inside and acclimate them outside

A decent 100 watt LED fixture, some Solo cups, a clear tote large enough to put them all in and some starter soil is all you really need. You can look up your growing region to determine last frost for your area and use that to determine when to start your plants. Giving them a headstart will insure you have large vigorous plants when they go outside.

1 Like