Topping branches

What do you think about topping branches? Plants have been topped a few weeks ago and growing nice branches. Still early in the season I have about 4 months until harvest. They are out side but do not want them to get more then about 4 feet tall, presently about 2 feet tall. Looking for more colas. I do understand once they go into flower they will stretch.

I’m not an expert but I believe you can do what suits you just keep in mind that every time you top your colas are gonna get smaller I believe there will be more of them but they will get smaller with each top… to keep a plant short most will do a little topping maximum of 4 times from what I understand then just use low stress training. Plants love being tied down I’m just getting through my first grow and LST is awesome I’ve got 3 beautiful bushes out of it and they loved it too I did some heavy training and non of my plants showed any signs of stress at all plus you get to keep those large colas… but remember I’m only getting through my first grow on my own haha I may be wrong but that’s my understanding of it and it may be different if you are growing outside

Interesting my first time on purpose also. LST is coming soon, just got wire yesterday. I guess bigger is better but you can’t smoke a big one all one time maybe. What I got last year was some little ones not much by any standard about a quarter z, sure was good. Started my interest in growing. This will be second gen from seeds found in a bag I got that was not supposed to have seeds. We will see. Good luck.

High,
Welcome I did top my Maui 4 times and she’s still 6ft tall. I “Fimmed” a couple others and they are significantly shorter and much bushier. Gonna “Fim” all next year. Good luck and have fun growing.
Ger

1 Like

Oops forgot to add pic

2 Likes