Topping Autoflowers?

Just topped one of the girls I have going, this is my first time growing, and I was very timid about even putting my hands on her, but I think I did it correctly?

I just softly spread the top 2 leaves that were forming around this top and gently popped it off with my fingers, bending it slowly until pop.

2 Likes

There are 2 main camps when it comes to training autos. 1 says NEVER top or FIM or so anything that would cause more stress than LST. The other says do anything to an auto that you would do to a photo, just get it done before they start flowering.

1 Like

Lol yes, I’ve been reading. I have 4 going so I figured I’d give it a try on one. This is her…

4 Likes

My next big auto run I plan to try 4 different methods. Mild LST, top and LST, FIM and LST, and manifold or mainline.

1 Like

I have that trellis netting stuff, how does that work exactly, do you just use it to support the heavy bud branches by letting them grow through the squares, or do you bend the stalks under the net and use it to give light to as many bud site as possible?

1 Like

Just my o2. I have seen the manifolds done. If you are talking about a LST there. Works fantastic. If you are thinking more like a main line. Well, after doing a photo. I doubt an auto would get very big. @Nicky is good at fimming. For me. I only top autos. My fims never come out and that is about the only way I found for me to stall an auto. I would be happy to tag a long though :grin: I used the trellis net similar to a scrog on an AK-47 auto. For as large as the squares are. It is best used for support of the branches. A true scrog would help you more. This was my AK

With a true scrog. You will start more like this. Tucking branches

1 Like

Nice reply Brian, and we are going to get you to FIM next grow! Lol.

Congrats on your top🔝 you did it nice and early so that’s an upside.