Topping and SCROG for Sour Diesel Auto?

Hi!

I’m new to this so looking for advice. Last fall, I grew my first plant, a Northern Lights Auto on a small grow tent (2’ x 2’ x 4’ or 60 x 60 x 120 cm). I used a bubble hydro setup and Fox Farms nutes. I have a 320w LED grow lamp in the tent and had it in my basement where the temp was 66-69F (19-20C) and humidity controlled at about 40% I got a decent result, but feel it was sub optimal.

I am germinating seeds right now for my next grow - Sour D autoflower (purchased from ILGM!). I have read all kinds of blogs, tutorials and grow journals about topping and SCROG to improve yields. I have read just as many that say you should not do this with autoflowers.

So, should I top my Sour D plant and attempt a scrog? If so, when to cut, and how far above the plant should the screen be?

Eternally grateful,

Wake up to Find out, you are the eyes of the world…

@Eyes_of_the_World welcome to the forum. Do not top your auto Fim it and LST the plant. Let me tag a few growers @SKORPION @Covertgrower @Nicky

1 Like

What kind of light do you have exactly. Lighting is the most important part of a grow set up. You can top, or fim and you can lst or scrog. But just reading your post I bet just better lighting will make the most significant change in the yield.

3 Likes

Welcome ILGM. Yes they can improve the yields, but if you don’t have a light to support it, it won’t yield more.

I also recommend low stress training instead of topping an auto. But people still top.

Screen Shot 2020-07-07 at 10.25.27 PM

This is my light.

So what is the difference between FIM and LST? I thought SCROG was a form of LST? I’m getting really confused here. I have too many acronyms running around my head.

More importantly, what is the best plan for my soon-to-be Sour Diesel seedling? I started germination two days ago in Rapid Rooter plugs. Looks like I may have a leaf tomorrow or the next day.