To Prune or Not to Prune Autoflowers

Hello friends, newbie here. I am on my very first grow. I have two autoflowers in my tent. I have a gorilla glue and a Pineapple Express. The gorilla is on the left and the pineapple is on the right. They are both on week 7 on day 50. My question is whether or not to prune. The gorilla is fine. It is the Pineapple Express that has exploded in the last week and a half. She is literally producing new branches with flowers almost every other day. I have a couple pictures of these branches on the bottom. There’s really no straight answer on this. Some say you should not touch them at all while others treat them just like photos. I am just wondering if my yeild is reduced because the plant is still focusing on those lower branches as well as all the leaves.

I

6 Likes

Some light pruning is perfectly acceptable with an auto.
I’ll only take an upper fan leaf if I can’t tuck it out of the way and it’s blocking a bud site.
Only take a few at a time so as not to stress the plant.
Underneath if it looks like it’s not going to make it to the top then I’ll remove. Also a bit of clean up on the lower stems will aid air flow to help prevent mold. Good air flow and humidity levels are key.
And welcome to ILGM @Jdoobee. :wink::+1::v:

16 Likes

As a back I agree with every thing he :point_up_2:said.

4 Likes

Nice healthy looking plants welcome to the community, I mirror the @Oldguy to the north. Keep up the good work.

3 Likes

Thank you friends. I just did some very selective pruning. I tucked what I could and clipped what I could not.

5 Likes

I would have to agree with all of the above. Good sound advice. I am a little more aggressive with my plants but, then again, I like to experiment. I do know that personally, I will no longer top autos in the future :v:

2 Likes