Tips for grow setup/costs

A question from a fellow grower:

I have a gorilla grow tent with 2 kind k5- xl 1000 grow lights

what I am worried about is power usage and what the two lights will cost me …
have tried to read to understand current daily 24/7 but does not get better understand it.

for the two lamps by 1000 * 2 watt is a high power consumption …

so maybe i think I must cut down television, refrigerator, shower less to use the two lamps? or just to simply hire me another apartment that I use only for that purpose…

do you have any tips?

1 Like

I am not an electrician, but I play one on TV. :smile:

Looking up basic info on the Kind LED Tech Specs show that those lamps pull a true 650W each. If you are on 110 voltage, then each will use 5.9 Amps. You may wish to check to see what the amp level is on your breakers. My breakers are mostly 15 Amps; however, some newer houses use 20 Amp breakers.

Two of those lamps will be putting ~12 Amps on a single circuit, plugged into the same one.

Again, this is just a rough estimate. Nice light choice, btw. :smile:

""If youa re in EU and using 220, these figures are not accurate.

2 Likes

hey guys, question:

I have a gorilla grow tent with 2 kind k5- xl 1000 grow lights

what I am worried about is power usage and what the two lights will cost me …
have tried to read to understand current daily 24/7 but does not get better understand it.

for the two lamps by 1000 * 2 watt is a high power consumption …

so maybe i think I must cut down television, refrigerator, shower less to use the two lamps? or just to simply hire me another apartment that I use only for that purpose…

do you have any tips?

1 Like

Are you in a country that uses 110 or 220 volts? That, along with what your Amp rating is on your circuit breakers will allow you to know the stress you are putting on your wiring.