Thin wallet soil

Hi I’m pretty new to this forum and I’m excited to get started with this. I just finished buying a bunch of equipment to get started on my new grow tent project being on a budget I was wondering if I bought just regular soil and added worm castings to it and also use the fertilizer I just ordered from Amazon called “Fox Farm Liquid Nutrient Trio Soil Formula - Big Bloom, Grow Big, Tiger Bloom” would that keep my plans relatively happy? My other question is do I need to add the worm castings if I’m going to be using the above fertilizer I just mentioned? The last time I grew was about 15 years ago and grew my weed “Hydro style” so I’m a little new with the soil growing.

2 Likes

I would suggest that you stay away from any product marked: “needs no feeding for 3 months” or “moisture control formula”. These contain harsh chemical fertilizers that you can taste after you harvest and cure. There are a number of organic topsoils and potting soils available from brands like Scott’s but PH can be an issue. A BIG issue. If you don’t already have a digital PH meter; get one now. Fox Farms Ocean Forest or Happy Frog is not that much more, frankly, and is PH balanced for cannabis.

A typical soil grow (assuming the correct soil) will need NO nutes until (at least) flower. The majority of issues related here to growing cannabis revolve around either PH or excess nutes.

The FF liquid trio is good stuff and grows great cannabis.

Another option is to do a grow in coco. You can buy a big brick of it for cheap, add about 25% perlite and now you are growing in soilless!

8 Likes