Sunflower branch snapped (help)

I went outside to check on my sunflowers as they are really top heavy so I have the heads strung up. I noticed one leave wilting and then I inspected further and it was only attached by a thread. I jumped the gun and pulled the leave instead of taping it and trying to fix it. Will this be detrimental to my plant? They are all nice and healthy I think? Idk this is my first attempt at growing something. Here’s some pictures l. Thanks for looking.
Cheers

Here’s the snapped off branch.

I’m guessing it was the wind as we had some pretty hefty gusts earlier in the day.

@GreenJewels plant needs assistance…

1 Like

Lol sorry I didn’t really know who to ask since I know this isn’t a sunflower forum lol this is the only “gardening forum” I’m a part of though so I thought I’d ask the great community of ILGM.
Cheers brother :man_farmer:

1 Like

Cheers my man. I get what ur saying. Jewelsy grows some amazing other plants. Think she had a 5-6 ft sunflower once :laughing:

2 Likes

sunflower will grow a new main leader out of a branch union, not unlike cannabis. They are pretty tough plants!

2 Likes

Yep, what @Cannabian said :+1: the sunflower will be fine :wink:

:rofl: Me too I’ve never been on a forum prior to ILGM
You will find a lot of people share their general garden wisdom around here too. I love this place! Happy growing :v::green_heart:

2 Likes

Good to know they just as important to me as my “other” plants. The one in the big 5 gallon I hope can reach that it’s a mammoth that I transplanted this week Plus the same one in the cloth pot is a mammoth as well. The goal was to hopefully have them grow as tall as me :joy: I have 3 type going now. The 3 strung up ones are vanilla ice and 2 others off camera are “sunshine sunflowers”? Their blooming now.

1 Like