Starting up, need advise :)

Question from a fellow grower:

I live in SC (USA) where nothing cannabis is allowed legally either for medical or recreational use. My decision to grow indoors is based on year round growing potential plus having a discrete system.

I am only interested in a plant or two at a time. I have a couple of real basic questions that are probably typical of a novice. Since I have limited experience with indoor growing, I’m seeking your expert advice on a couple of areas.

Is there a source you suggest that I may read about small indoor grow tents and complete systems I may find at a good value. I’m not wanting to pinch pennies, but not looking to spend extravagantly when not necessary. Is the LED my best lighting choice these days?

Would it be easier for me (beginner) to use potting soil medium vs a hydroponic system? My guess is hydroponics may take additional skills and experience to balance and get the nutrients all in order. Like I say, I am just getting started and any advice you can help me with is keen.

1 Like

First off you shouldn’t tell people you growing in an illegal state. :speak_no_evil::hear_no_evil::see_no_evil:
For a light just build a HLG led and for medium to grow in. Do you know what PH and PPM mean? If you want to learn go hydroponic. You’ll need to know it for soil too. I moved indoors and went strait to DWC hyrdro and love it. :clown_face:

1 Like

Id go soil for your first go round. And purchase everything separately, you’ll get it way cheaper. Plus, all the led lights that come with those tents are junk, they’ll do the job, just not very well. You don’t really need to know ppm and such. I’ve been growing for a couple years now and I’ve never messed with it

4 Likes

The first thing you should do is download and read the grow bible. https://ilovegrowing.leadpages.net/leadbox/147756c73f72a2%3A14c3f3fe8b46dc/5707648880082944/#download-grow-bible

5 Likes