Start up info (pot, mix)

A question from a fellow grower:

I am a novice at this.

After the germinating and seedling stage, I was thinking of using 1 plant pot, and to change the light source for the different periods, vegetative to flowering.

I was thinking of using a 5 gallon pot (about 22 litre pot) for use during the vegetative stage and flowering stage. Coco-coir and perlite / vermiculite mix (what do you suggest about the 2 mixes) and using nutrients dissolved in water to feed the plant.

Your thoughts and suggestions would be helpful.

I would not ever use a 5 gallon pot from the start. The roots will grow straight to the bottom and waste over 1/2 the soil. Start in a 1 gallon - 2 gallon for veg. Transpalnt to a 3-5 gallon for flowering. Inside, there is no use in using a 5 gallon pot. PLant will finish before you can fill it up. Outdoors you may benefit from using a 5 gallon.

New growers think that bigger pots mean bigger plants and more yield. This is a MYTH! Proper grow techniques, and diligence produces better plants every time.

@latewood, I agree with the starting in smaller pots and moving up in size. Also, about using all proper methods.

What I am uncertain about is final pot size with indoor grows.

I am growing three of the ILGM Strawberry Kush strain in a coco / perlite blend. I am using 10 gallon smart pots.

The website lists that this strain will grow between 10" - 36" on the seed info.

I had to start flowering earlier than anticipated due to rapid growth. At two weeks into 12/12 Flower Cycle, two plants are already at 36", while the third is over 4’ tall.

I’ve had to fashion a different hanging system for my light, to move it to the top of my 72" tent. I’m in the process of getting everything into a trellis, to train the plants from getting too much higher.