Spiral Plants - Tips and Tricks

Hello everyone! Okay so I have several plants that I am performing LST on. Now, these plants are all clones not from seed so i bent them over rather than doing the manifold technique as I normally would (this is my first time ever doing it this way). So normally i would do the manifold technique and then top the four tops and then top once more and start scrogging. Since this is a clone i figured it would be better to do this way. The plan currently is to train the plant into a spiral and then top and start my scrog. I just notice that it is taking quite a long time for the plant to grow from the apical node now that i have allowed all the other ones to have some fun in the sun.

So my question is, since this is going to take a lot longer to complete the spiral than anticipated, Could i let it grow a little bit more and then would it be beneficial to top the apical node and all the other apical nodes coming from the what should be side shoots and then start a scrog just as you would when doing the manifold technique? Or, should i work it into a spiral, top the main node and then start scrogging?

All in all i do want to run a scrog. Would it even be worth doing the full spiral or should i top and start my scrog. TIA for your tips and comments :slight_smile: happy growing!

LST Super Lemon Haze

2 Likes

For the record this is what i am talking about. I am at about step 5. Can i really even scrog at step 8? was thinking maybe get to step 6, top and then scrog? What’s everyones thoughts?

1 Like

I had a plant I laid over and just kept tucking it under the scrog. I had it offset in the tent. Once I had it about 70% ful I flipped the lights. It grew sideways.

Bottom view is best I know how to describe it.

@Arrow will have some good suggestions. Good luck! :+1:t2::v::sunglasses:

6 Likes

Nice looking plant! Did you top it at all? I’m just use to breaking apical dominance so I feel like i’m over thinking it all!

1 Like