Some feedback on autoflower blueberry - and a seed question

I started this autoflower blueberry indoors in mid April and moved it outside (Northeast Mass) around June 1. The plant seems happy and is getting about 8 hours of full sunlight a day and partial the rest of the time. I’m new to growing so any feedback from experienced eyes is appreciated.

Also a question about seeds. I see plenty forming on the plant but I’m wondering when is the time to gather those? I read through the ‘How to Grow and Grow Guide’ which talked about seeds but not about the process for collecting them. I’d like to get some for a more organized effort next year.

Thanks in advance.

Greg

Your auto has seeds forming? Can you take a pic?

1 Like

It looks like a female, if theres not a male plant around you wont get seeds

It is looking good Greg and starting flowering right on time. This is a female plant and looks like she will finish around the first half of Aug.

So the seed questions. If you do not have a male plant to cover her with pollen she will not have seeds to harvest. She will have the seed pods with the hairs sticking out as you see now, but they will not develop seeds inside.

Without a male to breed her the only other two ways to get seeds are if she is a Hermite, which means she has male and female parts and breeds herself. This can occur naturally, but its not good because the seeds will also be prone to being Hermites. This causes seeds and a reduction in levels of potency.

However, if you know what you are doing you can force a female to Hermite and breed herself and she will produce feminized seeds. But, unless you doing this large scale breed is something I would recommend for advanced growers.

ah, now that makes sense - thanks very much. I only had two seeds to try this year (deer wiped out my plants last year) and only one sprouted so this is what I’ve got.