Soil & How long to veg

I’m a beginner about to start a grow in a 3x2 thinking about doing 2 feminized critical seeds from royal queen seeds in 3 gallon fabric pots. Just wondering how exactly do I know how long to stay in veg and when exactly should I do a 24 hour dark cycle to start flowering? Also don’t really want to make my own super soil any recommendations for some affordable potting soil and nutes?

1 Like

I have primarily used coco but i just put my first seedling into soil about 2 weeks ago. I am using fox farms ocean forest. It is made for cannabis. I also run the ff nutes. From what I read you dont have to feed for about a month or 2 with it, so that saves money. Stay away from miracle grow if you want a good yield. 3 gallon pots will be okay but you will have to transplant. I have 5 gallon pots and my plants are so root bound it is crazy and causing issues. My next go around 7 gal pots all the way for me. Now the veg question… thats up to you, you can flip as early as 3 to 4 weeks sometimes, just keep you grow space in mind. The longer you veg the bigger the plant and when u do flip it, it will stretch to at least double the size. I normally veg 6 to 8 weeks and LST my plants to keep their height manageable. My next grow I am planning on doing 3 new strains, I am super excited about and plan on rushing them in the veg to get product faster. If i like the end results i will slow down the next grow and go for lbs. Hope this helps some. If you need to get someones attention just put @ in front of their name. Like @Jay_thegr8. Oh yeah man welcome to the forum, no trolls here. Only helpful people.

4 Likes

If you’re decided on 3 gal pots. In that size tent. 4-6 weeks of veg should be plenty.

4 Likes

First welcome to the community, the fox farm Happy Frog would be a good soil . If you are running 18/6 for veg you would need to flip to 12/12 to start your flower. Hope that helps good luck

2 Likes

Have you had any gnat issues with the ffof?