Smell, even with filter

Guys - I’m a complete newb at this. I’m trying to do some research before diving in. I’ve spent hours on this forum and have learned a lot - thank you all in advance for what you do. I appreciate your patience.

I have serious neuropathic pain. I’ve bought some FECO and it has been a God-send. It’s just incredibly expensive and I can’t afford it. In Ohio at the state store they want $95/half gram - I think they are sampling too much of their product. Ohio is not a legal grow-your-own state but FECO is legal. I’ve found some willing to sell compassionately for $20/gram which is a good price but I don’t know if it will last.

I should add I am absolutely terrible at growing things but I can learn. My last garden produced 2 nice cucumbers after I spent about $200. Good cukes but obviously a LOT cheaper if just bought outright.

My first question that I’ve been unable to find in searching here is smell even with a carbon filter. The logical place for my grow tent is in the basement - I can control heat, humudity, etc. Where I want to put it has an unused dryer vent to the outside. But it is right next to my front door. Even with a carbon filter will those with no cannabis exposure (mailman, etc.) be able to smell anything? Otherwise I could vent to the inside. It’s not a secret within the family but I am hoping to not have a strong inside smell either.

Best I’ve found in my ignorance is something like https://youtu.be/xcLeocZPy7o .

Comments, questions, criticisms welcome. Thank you again.

4 Likes

I have 2 tents and 2 carbon filters. The output from the carbon filters has no smell at all. They do a really good job. The room smells a bit when I open a tent door, and the smell permeates to a couple of other rooms when I move the plants. There is otherwise no smell.

4 Likes

I don’t use a filter. Most of my plants are pretty mild in smell. I have 4 girls flowered and 3 of them are in their 4th week and they barely have a smell.