Shaggys 1st indoor tent...err...1st time ever grow!

Hi Everybody!

This is my first soil tent grow. Well, 1st grow period! I got some clones from a buddy of mine @Jza444, and 5 of the 8 seem to be doing rather well. We’ll be taking some more shortly. I also adopted a pretty little lady that has been vegging for a bit. So far shes been pleasant and not so fussy. We’ll be getting her into a larger fabric pot and I’m sure she’ll be happier waiting for the kids to catch up.

First couple feedings/waterings
Date ---- Runoff pH----Runoff PPM ---- Nutrients Y/N (foxfarm)
9/13 -----6.7 ------------850----------------Yes
9/20 -----6.1 ------------850----------------Yes
9/24 -----6.2 ------------581----------------No

I’m using a vipraspectra 300w tc for the little lady and am gonna need some more light when I pot the clones. I’ve come up with a couple ideas but I am no expert on lighting, more like an interested passerby who sees the chainsaw juggler and thinks…ehhhh, maybe I can…

I am using a 5’ x 5’ tent. 1’ x 5’ of this area will be “open space”. I can give reasons and such for this but I’m not gonna beat around the bush, its so my fat butt has some room to move around when I need to be in there. My thought is to use the vipar 300 in the center and space 4 QB120s around it in a grid. I don’t plan on flowering more than 4 plants in the end. Being new to this, I’m not sure how the sides of the tent would reduce my light penetration.

This is a very rough sketch, and the lights will probably need to be adjusted for proper PPFD. If I did the math correctly, each QB120 would service ~2.25sqft (some of which is shared by the vipar) for required wattage of 315w. The vipar would sit in the middle and cover ~3sqft for a required 150W (blurp) and add some supplemental ambiance. Am I way off here?

My original plan was to run 4 vipar 300tc unit because, well…mainly laziness. But, where there’s fun to be had, one should at the very least take a peak yeah?

6 Likes