Semi Newbie with Unusual grow room dimensions

Greetings to all…
Long time lurker but first post so my apologies if I do something wrong.
My grow area is a side room of a garage and it’s 8’W x 2.67’ D x 7’ H
I intend on using only 6’ x 2.67’ x 7’ as the canopy area (2’ for fans heat etc)
I was using a borrowed 1000w HPS that the owner wants back so I am fixing to buy new lighting with a budget of $400
I was ready to pull the trigger on 2 each 315w CMH lights with Philips 3100K bulbs which will be right at the $400 budget.
But I figured why not ask all you fine folks for your opinions. I know there is much deserved love of HLG QB and I would love to get them but can’t meet the budget. I think I could build one with the help of the lightning guru @dbrn32 but with the weird shape of the room not sure what to do. I appreciate any and all comments questions.
Thanks in advance
@Countryboyjvd1971

4 Likes

Your posting is fine. Help will be with you shortly. I’m a newbie, but know that these folks are really helpful.

Thanks Jimmy Beam. This forum is very helpful… I’ve learned much from everyone’s experience

You’ll need around 500-600watts of quality cob/led/QB light for a 6’x2.6’ grow space. The design part is fairly easy, but I don’t think you’ll be able to diy it for $400.
The cheapest I’ve been able to diy is close to $1/watt.

There’s nothing wrong with cmh lights. If you can deal with the heat, larger fixtures, and less efficiency they’re are great way to go for the $$

That being said, dbrn32 will have the best answer.

3 Likes

Thanks for the reply
I’m not concerned too much about heat as it’s helpful in the cold days and a bit of an issue in the heat of summer but I can work around that I think.
If my budget was larger I would go QB but just old folks try to get some cheaper (and better) medicine

4 Likes