Seedlings die after 1-2 days

I’d appreciate any help you could give me with growing ILGM Skywalker and California dream seeds.
I planted 1 of each 3 times and all died after 1-2 days.
I’ve been growing for a couple of years and never had this happen before.
Same process as always.
Very confusing.
I don’t know if it’s a problem with the seeds, soils, peat pots, water, light or combination of all.
This is my process:
Soak seeds for 24 hours in 6.5 ph water.
Put them in 2. diameter jiffy pet pots.
Cover with plastic dome.
(Tried planting in both seed starter soil and also Foxfarm ocean forest. Same results.)
Place on seed heating pad until sprout.
After they sprout I put them under a 200-250 W LED blue light 50” away.
(It’s a 600 W dimmable LED).
10 on / 14 off.
Small fan blowing.
I use a water bottle to spray the top of the soil lightly twice daily.
The pots seem pretty dry.
Some never even stand up straight. Some do but quickly lean over the next day.
The next time I check they are laying down flat.
I check them in the morning and most are dead.
I try to not over or underwater.

Any help would be appreciated!

Could it be your heating mat is cooking them?
Sometimes those mats can get pretty warm even if only for a short while.

2 Likes

First thing I see wrong is your time schedule right now you want 20 and 4 hours if d as rk for 18 and 6 hours dark or 24 light… u go less then 12 hour u will flower as soon as plant matures…photos are all about there (photoperiod)

2 Likes

I reduced the hours because the seeds died so quickly. I thought possibly too much light.
Originally it was 12/12. That’s what’s the light manufacturer suggested for seeds. Then switching to 18/6

That’s interesting. I never considered that. It’s the same heat mat I used for years. Always worked. But you might be right. They might be already cooked when they sprout. Once they’re damaged they can’t come back. I’ll try again with no mat.
Thanks for your suggestion!

1 Like