SCart needs help

I know this is a topic that is beat to death but I would appreciate some insight.

This is my first year trying to grow. I only had three of five sprout and transplanted them to my fenced garden area to keep the deer away, these are White Widow auto-flower. The plants started out looking healthy but have only grown to around 15-16 inches tall with no branches but seem to have several flowers on them.

I am trying to get input on what I have done wrong so I don’t make the same mistakes next grow season. If more or other information is required please let me know.

4 Likes

Autos can be small like that sometimes no matter what you do.
But it could be the soil is not the best.
You might next time try digging out a hole and mixing in something to give better drainage and loosen the dirt so roots can grow easily. I did that for my tomatoes. Mixed in Fox Farms Happy Frog or Ocean Forest. Plus some perlite. That soil looks a bit clay heavy. But its hard to tell in a picture. Does water soak in quickly or does it sit on top a while before it soaks in?
By the way, Welcome to the forum. Its a great place to get answers.

4 Likes

Thanks Spiney, I appreciate the welcome.

I am in central VA where we have clay and very little dark soil. We burn a wood stove and put the season end ash can on the garden every other year. Other than that we don’t go heavy with fertilizer on the garden area. Water soaks in but not quickly, I have two rain barrels that I use to water the garden unless we hit a dry spell and then I use the water hose. I will till in some of the recommended soil you provided.

1 Like

If you know anyone with horses try to collect some barn droppings. Better if its a year old and dry. Till that in too. Helps on many levels and is not likely to burn the plants like chicken manure will.