Rookie lighting 4x4 tent

I am a complete noob looking for additional lighting for my 4x4 tent. I purchased a tent kit with a VS2000 which I am learning is entirely inadequate (my first mistake of many I’m sure).
I intend to eventually upgrade to HLG lighting in the near future but that is not an option at this moment.
In the meantime my questions are
Is the VS200 enough to grow two autoflowers through all stages in a 4x4 until I can upgrade?
or
Is there a cost-effective way to supplement that light enough to grow four autoflowers?
Thanks to any and all for your input…this is such a great resource!

3 Likes

Firstly, welcome aboard!

Long answer…

A good rough number, per square foot, is 40 watts -ish. Depending on genes and soil, and nutrients, and this and that, some autos can be monsters. Some may be little runts. You could flower two small autos, with 200w, but it’s kind of a guessing game sometimes whether they stay small or not. One plant would be ok, but in all that space, it would be difficult for the light to reach the sides of the plant. The reflective walls of the tent wouldn’t be surving their purpose.

Short answer…

No.

200w isn’t nearly enough for 4 plants in a 4x4. It’s really wasting a ton of space if you intend to use that light alone. I mean the autos will flower, regardless, that’s what they do, but I guarentee you will end up with a bunch of incredibly airy, fluffy buds, that would probably dry out way too fast at harvest.

You want upwards of 650w to adequately light your entire growspace. If budget is a concern, maybe HLG refurb lights. Spider Farmer is making some good light too. An HLG 600rslec would absolutely smash.

Hope this helps. Good luck and happy growing!!!

3 Likes