Reusing Soil Experiment

Hi Friends!

So after 2 outdoor grows with Roots Organic 707 I have heaps of pots with perfectly good soil that I hope just needs a little love to re-purpose. I’m also trying my first indoor grow so this is not a controlled scientific study. So after geeking out a lot on the internet about living soil and all the good stuff folks use to build a healthy base outdoors for my indoor grow. So…I’m trying this lol. Please know I might kill everything and it might not be the soil, but if you can re-use your soil and get good results, it may be a worthy endeavor. That said, I’m not good at moderation and like to piddle.

Here’s what I did: removed the big roots as best possible since they don’t have a chance to completely break down. I’m using (5) 1/2 gallon pots so 2 1/2 gallons of soil. Did a flush with Clearex first to get my PPM’s down. Added some Sensizym to cleanse the roots so my great white microenzie stuff would live. My PH is after this was 6.5 in and 6.3 out. Added 2 tablespoons of dolomite lime, and 15% of organic worm castings.

This is what my bag seeds (Gelato from a friend) look like now sprouted 2 weeks ago and just transplanted today. I guess if they somehow survive and thrive, in spite of all the new variables, there may something to this. BTW I only use RO water so no chloride/chloramines are in play to wipe out all the goodies in the soil.

Cheers!!!

11 Likes

Outdoor grow… no problem… indoor grow and your just asking for problems… :wink:
just my opinion… :wink:
Although… I must say that you did a good job at trying to reuse the soil… I just dont think it’s a good idea… :wink:
:v::sunglasses:

4 Likes

Hi @peachfuzz !!!

I read your posts and all the other good folks who know much more than I do and have nothing but respect for your sage advice…but I come from a long line of piddlers :sunglasses::sunglasses::sunglasses: