RDWC Yellowing leaves feedback

First time RDWC.
5x5 tent
RDWC 4 8 gallons buckets with Reservoir, 30 gallons
SP4000 LED
RO water system
Fox Farm Trio, Big Bloom, grow Big
March 9 22 placed plant (1inch tall) in bucket with first feed as indicated in feed chart.
PH 5.8-6.1
PPM 500
Water temp average 71-74
Tent temp 71 light off, 71-78
RH 45%
Blue Labs Meter (PH, PPM EC Temp

I noticed signs of losing greenish and slight yellowing. wondering if needing to cut back on nutrients. Just gave 2nd feeding yesterday Day 8 in hydro and gave half dosage. Ready to pull trigger and flush and start using General Hy nutrients but don’t want to jump too soon.

First time posting so be kind my friends.
Thanks

4 Likes

Welcome to your new happy place :blush:

1 Like

I’m not an expert and just started doing some hydro, you are going to want to bring those water temps down.

Out of curiosity how high is your light and how high do you have it turned up .
Normally if I see the fan leaves twisting like that it’s usually pH. Wind, or light/heat stress.

And welcome to the community!

2 Likes

Hi Josh,

My lights at 55% and 33 inches above canopy. I checked light manual it recommends dimming 60-90% for veg but 16-22inches high for seedlings and 14-16 inches for veg.
looks like my light can be much lower. only in hydro for 9 days. I will lower the light go up in dimmer maybe 65%.
My water temp is at 71F.
PH hovering at 6.1 but i keep bringing it down to 5.8. maybe i just need to leave it 6.1 and stop messing with it too much.

I’m also new at this stuff.

Thanks for your feedback.

I use the GH Flora and add CALiMAGic and Armor Si. Also for root health start them with RapidStart and use Hydroguard throughout grow.

For water temperature try freezing a couple 2 liter cola bottles and drop in your reservoir each day to keep water temps around 65 deg.

Welcome to the community!

I’m curious why do folks do hydro vs soil? Which is preferred?