RDWC and Rookie advice

Hello all, I’m doing a basic 2 pot + tank, Return Deep Water Culture (RDWC) to dip my toes in hydroponics. I’m totally new to the whole pot farmer thing but happy to cultivate :slight_smile:

Info on setup: 2-2022 Spider Farmer SF2000 and 6” fan w/ smart controls; VIVOSUN: 4x4x6’ tent, 2’x4’ heat mat with thermostat (question on this later) and 1500w radiant heater; fans, backup heat, humidifier, DH and so on.

Currently on 3rd week of first grow - 6 Auto ChemDawgs from Weed-Seeds. Not going to get into a-lot but I started with 16 seeds, actually germinated about 11 in Jiffy pots and subsequently Broke a couple, killed a couple doing stupid shit and F’d one up so bad it has one leaf with some shoots sticking up… keep in mind, I loved and tried my best with each one. But, I have gotten this far without any support, so I educated myself on the web and went through with a trial and error approach. Since I have learned many things, added lots of environmental controls and went big with the lights.

I want to take another shot at propagation and hopefully grow some sweet medicine with a support group to bounce ideas with.

So imma take the surviving 4 ChemDawgs and add 2x Auto Ak-47 and 2 auto Super Lemon Haze. Imma do one of each in Modified subcool’s soil and other 2 in a DIY RDWC system that I plan on building over the next few days.

(Me rambling) It’s like I have good equipment, seeds, controlled environment and time to tend over them for the full cycle. What I don’t have is fellow cultivators to share with (this is my first forum ever and I hope y’all will help with this new run and RDWC build experiment.

I will add specifics on build and photos later but I gotta bounce now. Thanks

4 Likes

I’m new into rdwc as well starting my second grow now.

You need a good nutrient line, I recommend jacks 321

Hydro is super important to maintain good pH, ppm/EC, and water temps, good air supply as well.