Questions And Advice Would Be Appreciated On My Setup

Ok folks, first of all, I want to thank those in advance that can offer some answers and or advice.

I am new to growing. My AK-47 Auto seeds are on the way. A friend gave me a couple of seeds and I started one just to check my system.

First let me tell you the stats of my tent, lights, ventilation.
I have a VIVOSUN 48"x24"x60" grow tent.

I have a iPlantop 1000W Triple Chip LED light.

And my ventilation is a 118 CFM Goplus Inline Duct Fan with a G-HYDRO 4 Inch Air Carbon Filter.

I have an interesting setup (for me anyways).

I have 5 gal fabric pots with clay pebbles lining about 3-4 inches on the bottom. I then put in large coffee cans with the bottoms cut out and put those in the center and filled in clay pebbles around them. I put soil inside of the coffee cans. My idea is that it will give the roots something to hold onto while letting the water/nutrient mixture drain. I have the pots on stands raised about 3 inches above the bottom of the tote and I have small pumps circulating the water/nutrient mixture via halo rings. You will see all of this in the pictures.

My biggest questions are about lighting. First of all, I want to make sure I have enough light but even more so I need to know how high to keep the light above the plants. I’ve read a million different things online but I really hadnt found anything specific to 1000W LED.

That is really my biggest question. Other than that I would appreciate any advice you wonderful people could give me before my good seeds arrive from ILGM. So far I am so happy with ILGM.

Only other thing I know to mention is that for this first grow I am using the Foxfarm Trio for fertilizer (Grow Big, Big Bloom, and Tiger Bloom).

Let me know what you think, please.

3 Likes

That light may be a bit much for seedlings. They don’t require much, a 6500k fluorescent bulb a couple inches away will be all you need for the first few weeks.